2500 Eutaw Place: A Story of Spite and Abandonment

Many thanks to Reader LR for playing tour guide and snooping around with me!

2500 Eutaw Place

2500 Eutaw Place

Property Address:  2500 Eutaw Place, Baltimore, MD 21217

Property Owner:  Twenty Five Hundred Associates, 2312 W North Avenue, Baltimore, MD 21216

It’s worth noting that no such company is registered with the state.  Their address traces back to another company that is not registered in Maryland, 2310 West North Avenue Holding Company.  In the city’s tax database, 2310-2312 is combined as one address, yet looking at Google Street View, 2310 appears to be a vacant house.

City Council District and Contact:  District 7, Nick Mosby

State Senator:  Catherine Pugh

State Delegates:  Barbara RobinsonShawn TarrantFrank Conaway, Jr.

Ornate ironwork is but only one of the lovely features of this home.

Ornate ironwork is but only one of the lovely features of this home.

This home has a fascinating history.  Originally built in 1895 by Captain Isaac Emerson, of Bromo Seltzer fame, the home was lived in by Captain Emerson and his family until 1911 — at which time, he divorced his wife.  Two months later, he remarried and built the Emersonian, a large apartment building that could possibly be the “mother of all spite houses“, as it blocked his ex-wife’s view of Druid Lake.  He and his new wife lived in the top floors of the building so that he could always look down on his ex-wife.

The Emersonian apartment building, 2500 Eutaw is visible on the left, to the right of the Emersonian is the view of Druid Lake.

The Emersonian apartment building, 2500 Eutaw is visible on the left, to the right of the Emersonian is the view of Druid Lake.

The home was eventually used for offices — by the state’s Juvenile Services Division, a private businessmen’s club (The Mercantile Club), and real estate companies.  In 1994, the property was auctioned off by one William S. Braverman, a real estate investor (no relation to Michael Braverman, Deputy Commissioner of Baltimore Housing) and sold to another real estate investor — James Crockett, whose sign remains on the front of the building today, despite having closed his office in this location.

Crockett Realty Company sign

Crockett Realty Company sign

The building was also used as the offices of the African American Firefighters’ Historical Society.

Unfortunately, this lovely home is falling into disrepair.  There are broken windows, some of the ceilings (acoustical ceiling tiles, no less) are falling down, and the original copper trim is being stripped away, presumably by thieves.

Broken window in the rear of 2500 Eutaw Place

Broken window in the rear of 2500 Eutaw Place

O, Irony!

O, Irony!

 

 

18 comments

    • Baltimore Slumlord Watch

      You’re welcome — I love our old historic homes…it’s always such a shame when they start to fall apart.

      • Angela S. Hall

        I use to work in this building when it was Juvenile Services, it was a beautiful building inside and outside. I now live around the corner from it and on my walks I would prayed that someone would buy it. If it is purchase please let me know. Thank you for the history lesson.

    • interested person

      I’ve been inside and it still has all the beautiful details behind the dropped ceilings. it is still a treasure.

      • masterry

        I once worked in this building when it was Juvenile Services, I have always admired this building inside and out. I currently live around the corner from it and frequently passes it on my daily walk routine. I passed by this morning wondering what would become of such a treasure. Thank you so much, it’s good to know the interior is still intact
        Have it been purchased yet?

      • Baltimore Slumlord Watch

        As far as I know, it was removed from the auction scheduled in June and has not been offered for sale since.

  1. Michael-Alan (@MikeInBmore)

    Not only in my neck of the woods… You were on my shoulders. I’ve become so numb to my neighbor that I haven’t noticed how bad the property had fallen. My wife did mention some time ago that she no longer saw the gentleman that used to care for the property nor have we seen his car that parks/blocks the entrance to parking lot in the back.
    This is a shame…

    • Baltimore Slumlord Watch

      It really is a shame, I’d love to see it restored….what do you think would be a good use for it?

      • Baltimore Slumlord Watch

        Only if there’s a solid plan as to how it’s going to be funded and staffed. Otherwise, no. Too many of those out there already, sitting vacant, because someone had the idea to open a community center…or whatever…and no practical means to do so.

  2. Shelonda Johns

    This was very intresting. I always ride past this place and for some reason it always caught my eye and wondered what was this home

    • Baltimore Slumlord Watch

      Me too. It’s one of those places that you drive or walk by and spend the next hour thinking of all the cool things you’d do to it, if you owned it. I do that with a lot of the homes I feature on the blog, particularly the historic ones or odd ones. It’s a nice way to daydream. :)

  3. Stacey Haines

    Very funny, my coworkers and I walked past the building today in wonder of its story. I also think of what it could be used for. Its a beautiful building, makes me even more curious about the inside. Is it for sale? rent?

    • Baltimore Slumlord Watch

      Honestly I have no idea as to the status of this property — I wish someone would buy it…someone who would be responsible and take care of it.

      My guess is the inside has been trashed — 1970s-type “renovations” involving acoustical ceilings and cheap office carpeting. Might be some cool features hidden, though.

  4. Sherri

    I stumbled onto this story while searching for information on this home. It has gone through receivership and is set to be auctioned on 06/23/2015

  5. Pingback: One of Baltimore’s Abandoned Mansions Hits the Auction Block June 23 | Baltimore Slumlord Watch

Leave a Reply

